What’s on your mind?

When you thought about starting a blog, you had some idea for a post: something you wanted to say to the world, a photo you wanted to share, a short story on the tip of your brain. Maybe you just wanted a place of your own on the web or had broader goals about writing regularly — but you probably had an idea for a post too, no matter how nascent. Today, you’ll write it.

Today’s assignment: write the post that was on your mind when you decided to start a blog.

I’m shy and have great difficulties in believing in myself, it has taken me about 10 years of blogging on and off, using social media and websites to get up the courage to begin a dedicated writing blog.

I have several ideas of things I would like to write or write about:

  • A book based on the mythical world of Ygdrassil, a planet left after the fall of a galactic civilisation, where the inhabitants have reverted back to a more primitive lifestyle and technology is classed as magic.
  • A play based on my work, residential child care, and the trials, hilarity, and tribulations that I’ve met through working in the same place for almost 30 years.
  • A travel book based on a walk that I’m devising between Hadrian’s Wall and the Antonine Wall along the route of Dere Street (with an extension to York where the road originated.
  • A book of poetry supported by my photography based on time and passing of phases.

This blog has started giving me the courage to believe that I can write and that the only real judge of my writing skills is me, at this period in time anyway 🙂

One Comment on “What’s on your mind?”

  1. Those sound like really interesting projects. There’s nothing better for writing than writing.


Leave a Reply

