Call Me Ishmael

Call Me Ishmael

“Take the first sentence from your favorite book and make it the first sentence of your post.”

The sky above the port was the color of television
tuned to a dead channel.

Gulls wheeling in time to the wind
Blowing through the ships rigging.
Slowly tipping over the horizon was my love,
and the light of day.

“The sky above the port was the color of television, tuned to a dead channel.”
first line of Neuromancer by William Gibson

One Comment on “Call Me Ishmael”

  1. I think one could make the argument that “call me Ishmael” is the best intro to any novel. I have a literary blog myself, and I think this blog posting is inspiring and elevating!


Leave a Reply

