Heroic

Daily Prompt: Heroic

When you were five years old, who was your hero? What do you think of that person today?

Photographers, artists, poets: show us a HERO.

The only person who was my hero when I was five was my maternal grandad. He was a larger than life character, a military man with a wealth of stories about World War 2, but who was also kind and caring and spent time with me making things like Airfix models.

My uncle David was only a year older than me and I found out later that my grandad had been my primary carer up until I was three and me and my uncle were treated like brother by him. This must have been why I always looked to him first for how to live my life and for his approval.

He taught me little things like it is always worth fighting for what you believe in, caring for others less fortunate than yourself is a virtue and that an equal society is also something worth fighting for.

I was devastated when I was eight and visiting him in the hospital as he died of lung cancer, but even though he was in pain he was always kind and loving.

I still miss him greatly and will always love him as he was one of the kindest adult in my life when I was a child.

6 Comments on “Heroic”


Leave a Reply

