This is your life

This is your life

If you could read a book containing all that has happened and will ever happen in your life, would you? If you choose to read it, you must read it cover to cover.

No. That would lead to utter madness. I know what I’ve done and gloss over the bits I don’t really want to remember and put a shine on the bits I do. That is what growing up is about, I know enough about myself to not regret what I do gloss over, the mistakes that I’ve made as every choice and action has led me to here, where I am now and though not perfect I like it.

As for knowing the future, and then having to live it one boring moment at a time, no thanks. Nothing would be fresh, no surprises, no joy, no fear, nothing as you would be expecting it all.

Chance and the unknown are both growth factors, learning opportunities. To lose these would make life unbearable.

So once you got to the point in the book where you started reading your future, I think all you would be reading about was the mind-numbing tedium to your inevitable death.

6 Comments on “This is your life”

  1. But would you be able to change your fate knowing what lay ahead? Might be interesting…

  2. …I never thought about the future when I was considering this question. What will be will be!

  3. […] This is your life | Wicked Words […]

  4. […] This is your life | Wicked Words […]


Leave a Reply

