Three poems

As a break from writing my assignment for the Open University I thought I would join in at Scribophile in the poetry group I’m part of.

The first poem is an entry to the Valentine Day competition

February

That look,
There,
In your eyes.

Those words,
There,
From your lips.

Your goodbye,
Here,
Knife in my heart.

The second is a Haiku in response to the Frantic Friday Weekly Prompt thread.

Blue haze distant hill
Evening falls stars awake
Bright night smiling moon

I had got the prompt wrong though through not reading good…

The current prompt was to write a Landays, a traditional poem form of Pashtun women of Afghanistan and Pakistan. There was a linked article http://www.poetryfoundation.org/media/landays.html and after reading that article I felt shamed that I was going to use such a strong part of their culture as a writing exercise and initially thought that I wasn’t going to write one but here is mine as a response to that feeling:

Bearded or not, the men take and hold
Steal the hearts, souls and bodies, give hate in return

Leave a Reply

