Weekly Photo Challenge – Beginning

Beginning

Beginning

Weekly Photo Challenge – Beginning

Part of a series of photographs from the same position at the same time, 7:30am, just before I start work for the day.

Been taking these for a while but now have the same format each time, Panasonic GX1 with the 20mm lens on a tripod, same ISO and aperture each time, but the exposure length differs. This regimentation of format has only recently started so the photos I’ve taken over the last couple of years were really just experiments.

Might share more as time goes by and I feel confident in linking with my real me.


Truth or Dare

Daily Prompt – Truth or Dare

Is it possible to be too honest, or is honesty always the best policy?

Photographers, artists, poets: show us TRUTH.

His life was a lie
From the age of 22 to the day he died, his life was a lie
He lied about love, which he didn’t feel
He lied about hate, which wasn’t there
He lied so often he got depression from the believed lies
He lied casually, he lied seriously
He sometimes even enjoyed his knavery
He lied no matter what
His lies were small, his lies were large
His death was the only truth he had left


Exploring title, tag line and an about box

Day Two – Zero to Hero

Today’s assignment: edit your title and tagline, and flesh them out more in a widget.

Looking at todays assignment I was very pleased as I had spent quite a lot of time thinking about the title of the blog as I had to ensure that I could get the matching domain name (www.wickedwords.co.uk) and I wanted it to be quite descriptive of my relationship with words.

The crafting of good writing feels as though it belongs to someone else for me, so the fact that I am writing and expressing myself, developing thoughts in prose seems very wicked to me.

Another factor is that one of my favourite genres of fiction is horror and I want to craft Wicked Words, tell a good ghost story, lead people down the garden path and send shivers up their spines.

As for the tagline I thought long and hard but really didn’t see the point of one as I was without a direction for my writing, but then it felt appropriate for it to be ‘one word at a time, one day at a time’ as that was the way the blog was progressing.

The about text was slightly easier as the last couple of days I’ve spent writing about me and what I was wanting to do with the blog.


Kick It

Kick it

What’s the 11th item on your bucket list?

Until I saw this prompt on the e-book (see link above) I had never considered a bucket list whatsoever. I am reasonably comfortable with the fact that I’m going to die and like to live my life with that knowledge.

What this made me think about was, am I actually achieving everything I would like to do, am I savouring life to its full or am I comfortably going about life in a day-to-day routine, liking the comforts that I have and the people I’m around but never really pushing myself out of that comfort zone?

The answer is probably yes, I like my comforts and routine. So the next question was, do I want to push the boundaries, go places and do things that are outside that ever so comfortable and safe routine. The answer was a resounding Yes!

So the next thing to do was to set up a bucket list, this was harder than it sounds and I was in desperate need for some inspiration. I looked around and I found an app called iWish and started building a bucket list.

So far I’ve added:

  1. Plant a tree
  2. Put together a will
  3. Go to Ireland
  4. Go camping
  5. Win a photography contest
  6. Learn CPR
  7. Learn to meditate
  8. Take up yoga
  9. Achieve my ideal weight
  10. Find my life’s passion
  11. Write a book
  12. Go on an inner awakening retreat in India
  13. Spend a week at a silent retreat
  14. Start my own business
  15. Own a house by the lake
  16. Go on safari
  17. Learn Scuba diving
  18. Visit Australia
  19. Go to Paris
  20. Achieve my M.A. in Art History
  21. Visit all 7 continents
  22. Ride the Rocky Mountaineer train
  23. Visit Venice
  24. Visit Rome
  25. See all European capitals
  26. Learn to surf
  27. Dive the Great Barrier Reef
  28. Learn to sail
  29. Explore a martial art
  30. Sleep under the stars in Africa
  31. Explore rock climbing
  32. Canoe through the Amazon
  33. Dive Belize’s barrier reef
  34. Ride a Beach Cruiser bike on a beach
  35. Go Blokarting
  36. Learn Italian
  37. Learn Spanish
  38. Identify my strengths
  39. Do woodworking
  40. Learn to play the guitar
  41. Take dance lessons
  42. Learn to Salsa
  43. Learn Jewellery making
  44. Learn sewing
  45. Make an exhibition of my art
  46. Create a YouTube video
  47. Publish an article
  48. Write a travel book
  49. Write a biography
  50. Brew my own beer
  51. Learn Origami
  52. Watch the top 100 movies
  53. Be adventurous
  54. Meditate in a Buddhist temple
  55. Keep a journal
  56. Learn to knit

I know that is only 50plus items and traditionally it’s meant to be a 100, but I ran out of steam 🙂

So the 11th item on the list is “Write a book”, that is a beautiful one as it has always been one of those dreams that I’ve had in the back of my mind to do.

One of the main purposes of this blog is to improve my writing ability in lots of different areas and to find out what I’m most comfortable writing.

So the book could be a collection of reminiscences, poetry, short stories, or it could be a novel, travelogue, cook book. All these things I am interested in but not settled into a style or have a solid idea yet.

Part of developing the book will be to participate in this years NaNoWriMo which I’ve explored already this year and the whole year leading up to that month is to practice my writing, getting my word count up to the daily requirements of producing 1500 words a day to complete the 50000 word challenge. Another aspect of this year is to come up with ideas of what to write for the month, a few plot ideas would be great.

And hopefully I will complete it before I Kick It.