Fast Forward

Daily Prompt: Fast Forward

If you could fast forward to a specific date in the future, when would it be?

Photographers, artists, poets: show us FORWARD.

This was a difficult one for me as I’m not really trying to plan the future right now due to the anxiety and worry that this causes me, so I was going to leave this as I had already written a post today.

This made me think about priorities and my practices, and I realised I did have a specific day that I’m looking forward to and would love it to be then now 🙂 It’s this Monday coming.

I know that is short term, but on Monday I start learning how to draw and I’m being taught by two people I really like which should make it a comfortable experience.

The reason it’s short term is that I can make short term decisions and plans without putting too much strain on myself.

The main reason I’m looking forward to this is that I’ve always wanted to draw and found it difficult to motivate myself so with friends help this should be easier, the other main reason is that I’ve taken control and have made a step of doing something which has always been on my extended to-do list.

This makes that list shorter and gives me more head space to deal with other aspects of it.


This is your life

This is your life

If you could read a book containing all that has happened and will ever happen in your life, would you? If you choose to read it, you must read it cover to cover.

No. That would lead to utter madness. I know what I’ve done and gloss over the bits I don’t really want to remember and put a shine on the bits I do. That is what growing up is about, I know enough about myself to not regret what I do gloss over, the mistakes that I’ve made as every choice and action has led me to here, where I am now and though not perfect I like it.

As for knowing the future, and then having to live it one boring moment at a time, no thanks. Nothing would be fresh, no surprises, no joy, no fear, nothing as you would be expecting it all.

Chance and the unknown are both growth factors, learning opportunities. To lose these would make life unbearable.

So once you got to the point in the book where you started reading your future, I think all you would be reading about was the mind-numbing tedium to your inevitable death.